“Pain is Temporary. Pride is Forever”

That was the sign a random woman was holding up near the final km marker on Sunday. She was sitting there, holding the sign, smiling. Her eyes met mine. “Lookin’ good! Almost there!”

Pain is temporary. Pride is forever.

After the half marathon this weekend, my pride meter is off the charts. Even though I ran a full marathon a few years ago, this feels like a much bigger accomplishment. With the event yesterday I have proven so much to myself. I have proven my ability to motivate myself. My ability to haul my butt out of bed and train on days when I really didn’t want to. My ability to overcome my fears. My ability to get out of my own way and accomplish something awesome…something that I really wanted for myself.

The best part was that I totally blew my own expectations out of the water. I was happy, I was strong, but most of all – I was fast. Faster than I expected. Faster than I thought I could be. On Sunday I was able to prove to myself that I am capable of more than I give myself credit for.

If this is the case in running, then I know that it’s the case in other areas of my life as well. I am capable of more than I think. This is the biggest lesson that I am taking away from this experience.

This half marathon feels like a turning point for me….one of those Big Moments in life that changes my perspective and propels me forward to bigger and better things.

Whatever “it” may be…I can do it. And I can do it on my own. Sunday was proof positive of that.

* * * * *

More marathon deets to come later this week – including PHOTOS!! I promise!

16 Responses

  1. So excited to read this. I knew you’d feel this way. I was even saying it to myself when I thought about you running, “She’s going to rock this thing and no one had a damn thing to do with it but her.”

    Very proud of you!

  2. Nice job!! Every race is different…some full marathons can feel like halfs, some half marathons can feel like fulls….and so on. But, when you do make the sacrifices in training, it always seems to pay off come race day!

    Also? That quote from the lady with the sign? One of my favorites.

  3. Woot! Good job!!!!!

  4. SO proud of you!! I knew you’d run your tail off and kick a$$ at the finish!! And I am glad it gave you the confidence that you CAN conquer other fears, and that you are capable of so much. Beaming bloggy friend over here :)

  5. Ride that high, girlfriend!!! Congrats!

  6. SO SO SO SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Congrats-that is an awesome accomplishment.
    Thanks for the inspiration from your dedication!
    Bravo :)

  8. Such an amazing accomplishment! I’m so in awe of people runners. What you completed is awesome. Then to also feel the way you do? Icing on the cake! Well done!

  9. Dude I’m so happy for you!! YOU DID IT! Congrats!! Hive Fives, Bacon!

  10. Well done you!

    Was that the Toronto Waterfront Marathon? If so did you see the 100 year old that finished it? Quite an incredible achievement!

  11. PS. I wasn’t meaning to piss on your chips (sorry, an old English saying) with that last comment.

    I am proud to call you a blog friend!

  12. [...] The half marathon showed me that when I am able to overcome my fears and truly push myself, that I am capable of so much more than I ever thought. If I can do what I did on marathon day, then honestly, there’s no telling what I can do. It’s time for me to get in touch with my Inner Badass: that fearless part of me that is ready to approach challenges head on and…ask for more. I’m not entirely sure what this is going to translate into in terms of my life. But I do know that it means I’M the boss now. Fear…you are no longer in charge. The Badass is running things. [...]

  13. [...] I feel pretty disappointed in myself. Defeated, even. Like I’m not that same women who rocked the half marathon just two weeks ago. I know what you all are going to say, it’s just one morning, [...]

  14. [...] niche in the stepmom role. I examined my relationship with CBG and took steps to make it better. I completed a half marathon – in better time than I ever expected. In the past 365 days I have shown myself the [...]

  15. [...] to run a half marathon. I struggled a lot with fear and self-doubt, but in the end, I ran it. And I rocked it. I finished faster than I’d hoped, I enjoyed every minute of it, and honestly felt proud of [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,259 other followers

