Just Call Me Mrs. CBG

I can’t tell you how many times over our vacation someone referred to CBG as my husband. And me as his wife. For the sake of simplicity we chose not to correct anyone. After all, at this point, the titles “boyfriend” and “girlfriend” just don’t seem to cut it…especially since we both know that we’re headed down the path to marriage. Calling CBG my “boyfriend” (at this age and this stage of our relationship) makes it sound like he’s just the guy I’m banging this month. And, y’know, he’s that and a whole lot more. heh.

Someone even called me “Mrs. CBG” at one point. And you know what? I loved it.

Loved.

I’ve come a long way in the last 2 1/2 years. I remember one of the early conversations CBG and I had when we first met and we discussed the idea of one day getting married again. We both had the same emphatic opinion: “Hell No!” The thought of taking such a risk, for either one of us, just wasn’t a possibility. And then, as time went on we softened up a bit. We reached a point where we both would say “If” we ever get re-married again.

And now? Well now, it’s a definite “when”.

I used to think that marriage was unrealistic – at least for me, anyhow. I used to feel like I would never be able to open up  my heart and take that kind of a risk again. Funny what love can do to you. CBG and I have had several conversations about when we get married. For us, it’s only a matter of time. I guess it’s an important lesson to “never say never” to anything in life…because we just have no idea what the future holds for any of us.

In fact, one night during our vacation, as we were drifting off to sleep in each other’s arms, the very last thing CBG said to me before falling asleep was, “I can’t wait to marry you.” I pulled him even closer to me and fell asleep with the biggest smile on my face. Talk about a swoon-worthy moment.

That’s a helluva long way from the couple who never wanted to get married to anyone ever again.


11 Responses

  1. This is such a sweet post.

  2. I know I’ve said this before but: I love your love story.

  3. Aw! I love that! You and QT are making me smile big today!

  4. Oh, YEAH!!!
    I was so hoping this post was coming…..

  5. Chuffed to bits for you!

    (PS just in case chuffed is a term used only here in the UK it means – I am really happy, excited and delighted for you!).

  6. Touching to read how real life ( divorce, death,
    difficulties of blended familes/stepchildren ,and distance) has brought two people closer together
    and created a bond that strengthens and supports as love should.

    May your journey together continue to blossom and strenghten throughout life’s passages.

  7. [...] what does this mean? It means that my life, my future with CBG is going to be put on hold for the sake of this one point. And it sucks. But for me, it’s [...]

  8. ahhh!! I read the title and thought you got engaged while I was gone ;-) But I truly loved this post, because ya know what? Love really DOES change that “will I marry again?” I had a moment like that on my trip too…swoon. LOVE LOVE LOVE you guys together. Just makes my heart smile.

  9. [...] Bald Guy and Momma Sunshine – single parents who met on Facebook four years ago and recently said adios to all the [...]

  10. [...] Bald Guy and Momma Sunshine – single parents who met on Facebook four years ago and recently said adios to all the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,279 other followers

