I Can’t Make You Understand

Blogging is one of those things that you just can’t explain to a non-blogger. It’s one of those things that you either “get” or you don’t. Trying to make someone who doesn’t understand it, “get” it, is like beating your head against a brick wall.

Last night sucked. Yesterday’s question about whether or not to continue with this blog weighed heavily on my mind. It’s still weighing me down today.

I still don’t know what I’m going to do about it. What I do know is that I have a lot of anger, hurt, and other free-floating negative emotions going on right now.

I’ve thought about trying to explain myself to his ex. But not being a blogger, she’s not going to get it. So there’s really no point.

Bloggers understand that blogs are about expression, working shit out, sharing our experiences, so that we can function better in our everyday lives.

Non-bloggers….well, I’m not exactly sure what you think. But you don’t get it, that much I do know. So I won’t even really try to explain it to you.

Today I will continue to sit with what I’m thinking and feeling. I won’t make a rash decision, but I will definitely make a conscious choice about what to do with this blog.

10 Responses

  1. I hear you MommaSunshine.

  2. AMEN. Absolutely agree on blogger vs. non-blogger. Hang in there…

  3. Well said Sunshine…take your time, give it lots of thought and know that we will be here for you regardless….love ya
    xoxo

  4. Oooooh, this so hit a nerve -> Bloggers understand that blogs are about expression, working shit out, sharing our experiences, so that we can function better in our everyday lives

    It’s true. Totally took me a while to know it. Thank you kindly Sunshine. Life is better with you in it!

  5. I was once a non-blogger dating a blogger. When J told me she was a blogger I thought, “that’s a bit sad – that is!”

    After a while I thought I would have a look at a few blogs, I then started writing one. Now when I tell people I’m a blogger I can see them look at me and think,

    “That’s a bit sad – that is!”

    But, at least we know the truth!

    I would miss your blog – it has helped me over the past few months.

  6. Yep, I agree.

    I’m glad you’re sitting with it and making a decision from a calm place instead of in anger. (OH the things I could do in anger…)

  7. I’m not a blooger, but I get it. Just sayin…. I supoose I’m in the minority??

  8. i’ve been writing online since 2001. it’s actually how i met my exh. however, i’ve never been able to make the leap from livejournal.com (where i still write, with all my entries “protected.”) to a standard blog. it’s exactly this issue that makes me afraid to write so openly. it’s frustrating and disappointing when bloggers i have been following for some time and really enjoy reading no longer write, or are forced to be heavily censored. but i certainly understand. i couldn’t write, knowing such people from my life were reading.

  9. I totally agree! Non bloggers so do NOT get it!

  10. I’ve recently decided to return to blogging and have been trying to explain WHY to my fella. He just doesn’t understand the siren call that blogging is for some people.

    I hope that you will continue with your blogging, in whatever capacity is most comfortable for you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,263 other followers

