An Open Letter to 2011

Dear 2011:

I’ve decided that I’m not going to weigh you down with any public expectations, goals or resolutions. That’s not really fair of me to do, is it? Instead, I will place those expectations and goals on myself, and they will be simple: To love more. To accept better. To appreciate the many gifts that I have been given. These things will all come to me because of my own choices….my own decision to go out there and get them.

Lots will happen in the coming year. Many of these things will be out of my control. The only thing that I can control is my own attitude, my own determination to make this my best year yet. If I focus on what is in my control, then I will meet my goals for sure.

So, 2011, bring what you will. Good or bad, I have faith that I will come out on the other end of it smiling. Thank you for giving me further opportunities to love, laugh and learn.

9 Responses

  1. Love this and wish I could say something like it too. The Type A personality in me however has been listing out specific goals in my head for days. Lol. But you’re right, if you can control one thing – your attitude – then the rest will fall into place. Happy New Year to you, the girls, and CBG!

    • Confession: I’m totally stealing an idea from one of my sisters and writing a list of “intentions” for the coming year. heh. Not resolutions…intentions.

      I do enjoy a nice list!!

  2. This is a great way of setting your focus for 2011. I’m with you on that..whatever happens, keep smiling. Sometimes it’s the only thing that gets you through. Happy New Year!

  3. Such a wise and positive post. Thanks!

  4. This is so simple yet so inspiring. Sometimes I wonder why I “have” to have goals and lists and things to work towards – why can’t I just simply look at 2011 as a year to live my best year yet? I mean, goals are good and all but I totally admire your simplicity.

  5. This is great and so very true. I’d rather have a resolution to love more, laugh more and live more than lose 5 pounds, become more financially stable, etc. I’d rather look back at 2011 as a year where I had fun and lived a full life than as the year where once again I didn’t meet the goals that I set and promptly forgot the day after new years.

  6. This is perfect! You’re so right. The only thing you know for sure you can control is your attitude :) I try to teach that to my kids, too…change your thinking and you might change the situation from a negative to a positive. I hope 2011 is the best one yet for you! You so deserve it

  7. This is so perfect.

    It made my night. I’ve been feeling so negative about “2011” because it’s been one terrible thing after another for the last two days but you’re right.
    I shouldn’t let things I can’t control get me down, all I can control is my attitude about it.

    I have definitely needed something like this.

  8. And Amen.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,256 other followers

