Quote of the Weekend

I spent the weekend with my mom. To put it mildly, she’s quite the handful. I think that my weekend with her can be best summed up in this one quote that she made on Saturday morning (when she was displeased with the way I was making cookies for the family get-together that night):

You have to understand how frustrating it is when people don’t do things exactly the way you want them done.

And…yeah. That pretty much covers how my weekend went.

Actually…it wasn’t so bad. One thing that CBG has taught me is to just accept my mom for who she is, rather than spending time being upset about the person she isn’t…and will never be. Since letting go of that expectation, my relationship with my mom has improved greatly over the last couple of years.

But honestly? She can still irritate the hell outta me.

4 Responses

  1. Okay, I literally laughed out loud at her comment–because, duh! That sure would be nice, wouldn’t it?! I would love it if people would do things exactly the way I want them done! But I’ve long since figured out that life doesn’t happen that way. Oh well.

  2. It is SO hard to accept those for who they are, rather than who you want them to be. I struggle with this too. It’s hard to just let that go, but it sounds like you are, and that’s good! and ps – mm cookies ;)

  3. Find me a Mom and Daughter duo who doesn’t drive each other crazy.

  4. I like that CBG has taught you that. I wish I felt that way about my dad. Still trying! Your mom sounds like an interesting character!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,255 other followers

