Happy Monday!

So The Universe came knocking at my door this weekend and I decided to answer.

Um…yeah. My attitude last week was less than positive. This I know. And while it’s okay to feel like crap now and again (we all do!) I realize that I was wallowing in it a little more than I should be. I was focusing on the negative, on all the reasons I have to be stressed out and to feel bad, rather than concentrating on all of the good things I’ve got going on.

It’s so easy to slip back into that way of thinking.

And so today is a new day. A new week, even. I have lots of things on my plate. Some things are not within my control. Like landing a job. I can continue to work at finding one, but whether or not I actually get it is something I can’t do a whole lot about. And so, I will work on the aspects of the job hunt that are within my control. I will keep  plugging away with my applications. I will keep a positive attitude. I will work at this like it’s a second job – until something comes along. I’ve got mad skillz people – I know that eventually something will come along.

And the more I think about it, the more I realize that there are things that are within my control, and that I need to work on them.

I need to get back to running again. I got off track with vacation last month and didn’t seem to get back there again. It will definitely help with my stress levels. Plus, I always just feel better when I know that I’m treating my body well. This weekend my body has been experiencing a lot of aches and pains and I think it’s a not-so-subtle message that I need to to get back to exercising regularly.

I also need to get back on track with healthy again. Again, this happened over vacation (last month!!) and I haven’t gotten back on track with it. Today is as good a time as any.

Yoga. ‘Nuff said.

I started de-cluttering around my apartment this weekend. This feels good. I know that when my house is out of order, my mind and my spirit feel out of order as well. This is also something well within my control to change. I cleaned out my front entrance closet over the weekend and already it feels like a huge weight has been lifted from my shoulders. I like this feeling. I will make sure it continues.

The biggest thing that is in my control right now is my own attitude. This I know more than anything will help me weather the next little while full of stress and uncertainty. It requires work on my part to ensure that I don’t fall into that dark pit of hopelessness, and today, I’m feeling up for the challenge. After all, what other choice do I have?

6 Responses

  1. it’s totally ok to wallow sometimes. You caught yourself before it became too much and that’s all that matters. GOOD LUCK on the interview, and you are right – you can only control your attitude, and the rest is out of your control. Helps knowing that doesn’t it?

  2. I got back to running today after a complete stop over the summer holiday. 3 and a half miles seemed like a marathon but I feel so much better for it now.

    Good luck with the job search and the fitness regime!

  3. There’s no question that looking for work is a full-time job, or nearly. It can be grueling, and feeling down can be part of it, especially when it drags on.

    Here’s hoping things pick up for you. And certainly, if you can exercise and take good care of yourself, that helps. (Now if only I could take my own advice, right?) :)

  4. hey lady,
    i’m with you on the mess and the clutter and missing running and the jobby job… i haven’t run since may, when i tried working at starbucks, and now it’s september. haven’t.. quite.. recovered… from mcstarbucks. i really need a running partner.. maybe. never thought of doing that before….

    but what if… what if we made a running date? seriously!!! let’s pick a running date and we’ll run on the date that we pick. i know this is probably kinda forward from someone who hasn’t commented on your blog before, but i’m in the mood of taking a risk, even if it means i’m only asking you to run with me. (what a silly risk, to take the risk to run… risky running?!!!)

    sending you peaceful vibes!!!

  5. Nice post. You weren’t alone in your self-pity; I think I wallowed my fair share last week also. I’m with you on the clean house, clean mind idea. To combat that problem, I’ve set aside the last 20 minutes of the night to make my boys clean up their messes and me mine. Sometimes we all just need to pick ourselves up and do what works for us to make life a bit easier.

    Hope your week is brighter!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,256 other followers

