Dear Reality: I’d Love to Give You a Kick Right in the Nads

I just said goodbye to CBG after another great weekend together, despite the hurricane that hit us on Saturday.

Actually, even that was kinda fun. He and I are good at making our own fun, no matter what the circumstances.

heh.

We’ve had a good run of seeing each other regularly this summer. We’ve seen each other five weekends in a row, including a 10-day vacation together plus another 3-day weekend this past weekend. It’s the most that we’ve seen each other in the past two years.

It’s been great.

The downside is that it’s going to make this next two week gap between visits suck harder than usual. I’ve kinda gotten used to having the big lug around on a regular basis. The coming two weeks are going to be filled with finding a new routine for the girls at school and job hunting for me. My six month contract is up at the end of September. I’m hoping to find something else before the month is out. That’s a lot of pressure.

It hasn’t even been an hour since CBG drove off and already I feel a weight of sadness on my chest. I miss him already. With all these regular visits and vacation and my surgery and everything, it’s been easy to forget the reality of our situation for a little while. But now reality has returned, with a vengeance.

(Hey – I haven’t whined in a good long while. Cut a girl some slack, would ya?)

My plan is to throw myself into life as it is right now. Focus on my girls. Job hunt like crazy. Get back to running again, which I strayed away from during vacation and because of my tubal. My apartment desperately needs some major organization. CBG’s birthday is coming up. I have plenty of things to keep me busy for the next two weeks.

Maybe if I stay busy, I’ll forget about that ache in my chest.

Maybe.

6 Responses

  1. Sniff. Aches are hard to ignore, and I can imagine it’s a biggie. But the routine will help, as will “run dates” with me ;-P And I am so glad you two got to see each other as much as you have, that’s awesome!

  2. Good luck with it all!

  3. Long distance relationships are hard!! Job hunting is hard, too. But you have your girls and that’s always good. Glad you had a good weekend despite the storm! :)

  4. Um… yeah? I know how you feel!

    Take care of your stuff and your kiddos… and hopefully those 2 weeks will be over before you know it!

    Even better, try to enjoy those 2 weeks. :)

    (And yes, I need to follow my own advice.)

  5. Awww…I love romance. I don’t have any. ‘Cause I’ve been married for 9 years. I know I know that’s no excuse. But that’s mine.
    i hope the time flies by, I hope you are uber productive (yes, I just used the word uber), and I hope you stay happy.

  6. Long distance relationships are not for sissys!!

    Big ups to you both!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,279 other followers

