Perspective

There’s nothing like hearing devastating news about someone close to you to put life into perspective.

These days, my bullshit tolerance is lower than ever.

There have recently been people causing a disturbance in my life. Unnecessary drama. Hurtful, damaging things have been said. I’m not innocent in all of it, either. I recently retaliated and said things to someone that I have come to regret as well. It’s so easy to get sucked into the darkness.

But this unnecessary drama all takes a back seat to some very real issues going on right now – namely what’s happening with CBG’s mom. Compared to life and death, these people and their situation look pathetic. In fact, I pity them – for creating something so big and hurting so many people – for absolutely no good reason. I guess it’s their way of feeling important.

When faced with a real issue, it’s easy to let the created drama blow away on the breeze. I have more important things to concern myself with.

So often it takes something terrible happening for us to slow down and appreciate the goodness that we have. I do it, too. I stress and worry about things that, in the grand scheme of things, mean basically nothing.

Last night I smiled across the table at my exhusband  as we had our “first day back at school victory dinner celebration” with our two girls – grateful for his friendship and our ability to parent together beyond the necessities.

This morning I hugged my girls close to me and said a silent prayer of thanks.

Tonight I will fall asleep in my man’s arms…completely grateful to have him with me.

I don’t know what tomorrow will bring. None of us do. All we can do is be grateful for what we have, in the moment that we are actually having it. I will drink in every single second of joy while it’s here. To do less than that is a complete waste.

7 Responses

  1. It’s sad, and true, that something horrible happens to offer us the perspective we need to focus on only the important things. I think it’s really awesome you have a great relationship with your ex. I try to have one too…yes it sometimes sucks, but I worry if we’re actually friends like I wish. I think I’m his friend and he “plays” friends with me. Sucks but it could be so much worse! I think your kids are the ones who benefit from your relationship with your ex–you should be proud of yourself for that!

  2. Aw, this is a beautiful post, despite tragic news for CBG. I love that you and he are doing so well and support each other through and through, and I love that your relationship with your ex is going smoothly and your kids are good, and all seems just as right as it could be, despite all the bad.

  3. *Deep breath, happy sigh*

    Thank you for this.

    Ya’ll enjoy your time together.

  4. Yes, perspective.
    Have a great weekend!

  5. Loved this. THANK YOU for sharing this really wise perspective. xo

  6. This is so true. With all the negative stuff I’m still dealing with in regards to my divorce and the ex this is a very important thing for me to remember.

    Thank you for the insightful and lovely post.

  7. Stress is definitely the biggest trigger for drama. It’s hard sometimes to remember that. You have a great perspective on things. =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,329 other followers

