Vacation So Far: Triumphs and Challenges

Well, folks, we’re about halfway through the vacation. There’s so much going on and quite frankly, I haven’t really had time to process much. I’m sure I’ll have plenty of blog posts about this whole thing when all is said and done, but for now, I don’t have a whole lot to offer.

We’ve had several highs and lows over the last several days.

Some of the “triumphs”:

- Having someone else around to parent with. Parenting alone can be pretty lonely sometimes. Simply having another adult around to back me up is such a good feeling.

- Realizing that CBG and I work well as a team in everyday life situations. It seems like when one of us is running low on patience with the kids, the other one is there to “step up to the plate” and ensure things go smoothly. It allows the frustrated one to just take a bit of a breather before diving right back into the thick of things again. We also make a good team in terms of getting things done – like packing up and getting ready to go.

- Seeing our kids get along well together. My girls have met Rugrat before, but over the weekend they met Ankle Biter for the first time. It took almost no time for the kids to warm up to one another and run around playing together like regular siblings.

- Seeing my daughter, Kiddo, snuggling up to CBG on the couch on one of our first nights together. It warms my heart to see my girls so relaxed and comfy with him….and for him to feel that way in return.

- Seeing CBG making an effort with my girls. We don’t always make the same parenting choices when it comes to our kids, but it’s great seeing him respecting and backing up the way I want things to be handled with my girls. It’s all about the effort…which I very much appreciate.

Some of the challenges:

- Tween tude. I’ve seen enough in the last few days to make me want to run away from home when my own girls reach this age. ‘Nuff said.

- Trying to parent the girls all together, when they are used to different rules and different parenting styles. Rugrat is used to a very different approach than my girls are – what works for them doesn’t really work for her. She lives a very different life and it’s hard to make everyone understand that in order for us to all get along, we need to find a happy medium, which means that not everyone is going to be happy all time.

- Keeping my girls occupied. It’s hard to be out of your own “zone” for a long period of time, with your routine upset without any of your own “stuff” around to play with. They’ve been pretty awesome, all things considered, but it’s still a challenge.

I’m sure I’ll have more thoughts on all of this later…these are just some random thoughts for now while I’m on the road.

The good news in all of this is that things feel absolutely great between CBG and I…and as long as we’re on the same team, them I know that we can handle any of the challenges that we encounter this week.

2 Responses

  1. By my count, the triumphs are winning over the challenges, 5-3, and that doesn’t count your final paragraph– that you and CBG are getting along great (which should count for at least two more points.)

    Sounds like a win!

  2. Love it!! Don’t you find you learn so much more about each other through these challenges? Sometimes I get frustrated and other times I fall even more in love.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,279 other followers

