Disappointment

I’ve been experiencing some feelings of disappointment these past couple of days. I notice that I often feel disappointment in people when they fail to meet the expectations I have for them.

I understand that this is partly my own issue. It’s inviting problems, to expect certain things from certain people. After all, people are who they are, aren’t they? Expecting more than that is an open invitation to heartache.

But what about common human decency? What about understanding and compassion and kindness? Are those honestly too much to expect from someone, particularly someone that, like it or not, you have a relationship with…and will continue to for a long time to come?

I’m not sure who I’m more disappointed with – this person for not being more, or me for believing that they were capable of it.

Reality is hard to face sometimes.

6 Responses

  1. Don’t know. But often you may not see what they are experiencing or going through and why they act the way they do. Sometimes I get mad about people’s reactions and then it turns out it really has nothing to do with me.

  2. I hear you on this!

    I have been battling this with my friends recently and like you its my issue. I appear to set expectations that are too high!!

    Its hard!

  3. Um…. yeah. Know this feeling all too well…

    What I’ve learned is that sometimes, my expectations are too high and sometimes, I’ve neglected to voice my expectations – even when you’d think it’d be obvious!! Everybody has different ways of looking at things, unfortunately. Or fortunately.

    ((hugs))

  4. I know exactly what you mean! I had a few “friends” tell me they would help with our Relay For Life team this past weekend — no show, no call, no apology. (Still waiting and it is 8 hours post event.) I had to remind myself it IS just on a “Volunteer” basis, but I counted on them when they told me they would be there. All we can do is learn from it and never act that way ourselves.

    http://tiny.cc/182zq (My Relay Page)

  5. I’m so with you. I’m scared, and have no idea what to expect with Capt. Crazy Pants gets out of jail.

    I have really low expectations though, so I won’t be disapointed at least.

    I hope it gets better for you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,281 other followers

