Recipe For a Cranky Mood

Ugh.

It’s been one of those days.

I needed to go out this morning to find something to wear to Tuesday’s job interview. It was my only opportunity to do it. So I went out with Kiddo and Little Mo in tow. The plan was to quickly find something, then head off to the library for some fun, quality mommy-daughter time.

Well, ladies, you know what shopping can be like when you’re under pressure to get something. Add to that two little girls who HATE clothing shopping and tend to behave badly after only about 20 minutes. Also in the mix is the fact that a conversation yesterday with a friend has been weighing on my mind.

And that, folks, almost ensures a cranky mood. I was impatient and cranky with the girls. And it seems like the more impatient and cranky I am, the more they test my patience. Because the crank almost always leads to guilt, which in turn leads to even more crank. It’s an endless cycle and I almost always end up hating myself for it.

Today was a less than stellar parenting day, my friends. I’m going to do my best to pull up out of it, but once I’m in this deep, it really feels hard to dig myself out.

Ugh.

4 Responses

  1. oh man, Friday was my “bad mommy” day. I have tried SO hard not to say anything bad about the kids dad. Not to mention him being in prison, or any of the bad stuff going on. I don’t want it to be their burden.

    Friday my former in laws called accusing me of terrible things and making threats. I LOST it in front of my kids. Yelling about adult things they do not need to hear or witness.

    I cried and yelled and then yelled at them. I was not a good mom. They deserve so much better and all I could do after the fact was apologize. That’s not good enough and I know it.

    We’ve all been there. Being a single mom is so hard some days, don’t beat yourself up over it, just get up the next day and try to do better.

  2. Just remind them that they have bad kid days and it is ok. e are all entitled once in a while. You are a great mommy the rest of the days.

  3. I got tense just reading this. Seriously, when I get trapped in those cycles (which is more often than I care to admit) I can’t get to bedtime fast enough, and then as soon as they’re tucked away I start ruminating on all of the things I should’ve done, instead of the things I did.

    Double ugh.

    Well, at least you can take comfort in the fact that your cycle doesn’t include carbonated beverages from McDonalds and chocolate bars stored for such occasions as these. Nothing exacerbates it faster than a sugar high gone bad.

    PS: Good luck on Tuesday!

  4. We’ve all been there!! And shopping for yourself, with kids in tow is the WORST. Don’t be so hard on yourself!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,314 other followers

