Having Faith

I’m not sure what else I believe or don’t believe at this point, but one thing I do believe is that things, particularly big things, happen for a reason.

I believe that certain people are brought into our lives for a purpose – either for us, them, or someone else.

I don’t really believe in accidents.

I believe that all things that happen in life, good and bad, have the potential to teach us something valuable. It is up to us whether or not we learn those lessons.

And those repeating patterns? It’s just further opportunity to learn the things you didn’t learn the first, second, or third time you encountered it.

I realized last night that it’s easy to have faith in The Universe, and in things happening for a reason, when everything is going well. The challenge comes when life throws you a curveball. Because they always come, don’t they? No one’s life is perfect – there are always bumps in the road, challenges, rough patches. The trick is to be able to hang on to that faith, that hope, when things seem hopeless. Having faith is what will get us through the rough patches.

I found out yesterday that the six month temp job that was lined up to start on Monday morning fell through. It had nothing to do with me, it was just one of those things. It was an unexpected blow. I spoke with my sister on the phone last night and she reminded me that all this means was that I am meant for something else….and that things will become clear to me in time.

I know that she’s right, but still…it’s difficult having that faith right now. So today I am pulling myself up, dusting myself off, and trying to hang on to that hope and faith during the time when it’s difficult to do it. What other choice do I have at this point, right?

10 Responses

  1. Love this blog. I, too, agree that everything that happens in our lives happens for a very important reason. It always amazes me when, months or years later, I can look back on things that even seemed so small and see how they changed things and how they played a part in who I am and where I am in my life.

    Sometimes lost opportunities lead us to the ones that we really had our hearts set on in the first place. ;)

  2. Just curious, why do you not apply for a full time job? Are you just testing the waters right now? No worries. Something will come along.

    • I’ve been apply for full time jobs…but the job market right now really stinks. Add to that the fact that I was a stay at home mom for six years, and it’s been hard to find a job.

      I’ve been going the temping route in the meantime to get some recent experience and current references.

  3. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Momma Sunshine, Lori Vadala Bizzoco. Lori Vadala Bizzoco said: RT @Momma_Sunshine: NEW BLOG POST: Having Faith http://tinyurl.com/yb824xx [...]

  4. Oh Honey, I was only at home for a year and it took me three years to find something stable and worth the money.

    Everything happens for a really good reason!! Hugs.

  5. Well I agree that all things happen for a reason. It will all work out in the end, there is something better waiting in the wings.

  6. Hi – Keep the faith, keep the faith, keep the faith! Remember that you care in the middle of your story so good things are coming! I promise that’s always what has happened for me.
    Swati

  7. Needed this today. Thanks girl.

    Hang in there.

  8. Yes, hang in there. I believe too, things happen for a reason. ((HUGS))

  9. The times when I feel most alone are when everything hits at once, i.e., bills I don’t know how to pay are weighing on me, sickness with the kids or me, D. and the legal stuff getting worse, and the realization that I don’t have a companion in life to go through this with me.

    When I’m NOT in that mode, I can look at life and say, My children and I *will* be provided for and God knows what I want and what I need. And that I’m right where I’m supposed to be, even if everything seems contrary to that statement.

    Yeah, I hear ya. May you find employment soon and may it be better than what you could imagine.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,230 other followers

