Merry Christmas!

Wow. What a difference a year can make.

A year ago I was separated from my ex, but we were still living in the same house.

A year ago my community of friends were beginning the descent from my life.

A year ago I plastered a smile on my face for the sake of my girls, but was just “white-knuckling it” through the holidays.

A year ago I was still struggling with depression.

A year ago I’d just started dating this great guy, CBG, but still felt “not ready”.

But this year? Well…this Christmas:

I am living on my own, working on making my place my very own, and enjoying the independence.

I am secure in the knowledge that the people in my life are here for very good reasons. It took a true crisis to find out who the solid people were in my life. You know who you are. I love every single one of you.

I am bursting with excitement for Christmas. It’s going to be a good one…not just for the girls, but for me.

The depression is behind me. I still have the occasional “bad day”, but I have learned to recognize the joy and happiness in my life…and most of all, I finally, finally know that I deserve it.

I am excited to be spending Christmas night with CBG, his daughter, and the rest of his family. I couldn’t imagine my life without him.

Life is good, people. Better than I ever imagined it could be.

Merry Christmas!

3 Responses

  1. Merry Christmas to all of you!

  2. Merry Christmas.

  3. Merry, MERRY Christmas lady! <3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,314 other followers

