Friendship and Laughter

** As happens from time to time, CBG and I today have posted on similiar topics today. I swear, it wasn’t planned. ;)

* * * * *

Last night I hung out out with my friend Dimples. We only had vague plans about coffee “or something”, and ended up going into a little Greek restaurant downtown that neither one of us had been to before, to share an appetizer, dessert, and some great conversation.

It would seem that he and I are developing a comfortable and close friendship. I really enjoy hanging out with him. He has possibly one of the best hearts of any person I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing. One of the things that really strikes me is that he is also very broken, with a personal history that that is as complicated and messy as my own. He is a good reminder to me that having a complicated life or a complicated past doesn’t make one any less of a human being. Dimples frequently reminds me of my own goodness, in a way that only a good friend who doesn’t sugar-coat anything can. He is a terrific example of someone who has risen, and who continues to rise, above the difficulties that life has thrown in his way. He is a fighter. He is a survivor.

Last night we shared a lot of “stuff”. Stories about our complex pasts, which have been coming out gradually in pieces over the last several months. It’s like putting a puzzle together, slowly, with those enlightening moments when the picture starts to make sense. Each piece has value on its own, but when snapped into place, it gives you a much better idea of the whole picture of who this person is. Mixed with these heavy tales were light and fluffy bits, including one particular story told to me by Dimples (which I couldn’t possibly do justice by re-telling here) that had me laughing until my sides ached.

Because you know, a good friendship isn’t all about the deep and heavy stuff. You need to throw some laughter in there now and again, too. Fortunately, we are able to do a lot of that. It’s funny how sometimes facing a lot of difficulties in life can give you that ability to laugh at yourself and life. ‘Cuz if you can’t laugh at it now and again, then it’s pretty grim indeed.

I’ve learned a lot in the last year about what friendship – true friendship – really is. The surprising part for me is that not only is it something totally different than what I once believed it to be, I am also finding it in places that I never imagined. And for both of these things, I am intensely grateful…because it feels as though a veil has been lifted, and I am truly seeing the world, my world, for the first time in a very long time. It’s been a challenging year for me in terms of friendships, so to find someone that I am able to share and connect like this is such a very welcome thing.

I seem to be saying this a lot lately, but I feel the need to say it again: Life is good.

8 Responses

  1. Hiya – just came back to vist! I also have a few female friends like that. I don’t see them enough…

  2. My friend TNT has become this to me lately. I know this feeling so well.

    I’m glad that you have that and I’m glad that CBG, though a little jealous, appreciates that you need your friendships just the same.

    Life *is* good. :)

  3. Indeed, you have a charmed life right now my dear, at least from my POV. :)

    This is how my Wingman and I are. Intimate as friends only.

  4. Yes, Life is very good. I used to carrry really heavy deep complicated stuff into relationships. But the fun stuff, the light stuff, is what lifts us up and puts smiles on our faces. ANd splits in our sides. (side-splitting laughter, get it?) Have fun!

  5. [...] the original post: Friendship and Laughter « Sunshine on My Shoulder This entry is filed under Art, Friendship. You can follow any responses to this entry through the [...]

  6. that’s so good. I am glad for you you have a friend like that!

  7. Well good friends are a gem indeed!

    Amen @ life is good!

  8. So true that in the end you find friends in the most unlikely places. It’s nice when you can honestly say life is good. Lucky you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,238 other followers

