Love Is … Standing In the Rain for Six Hours

…actually it ended up being a little more than six hours, really.

But I loved every minute of it.

But even if I hadn’t loved it, I still would have plastered on the world’s cheesiest grin and faked it like never before – because after all, this was CBG’s Nightseeing his all-time favourite band EVER in concert. You bet your ass that I’m gonna be there and I’m going to make sure that it’s a memorable night. Because for me, that’s what showing your love is all about.

Every now and then I still have these moments when I shake my head in disbelief that THIS is where life has taken me. Most  of the time, it’s one of those amazingly wonderful, completely surreal moments, where, had you asked me a year ago what I thought I’d be doing at this time, I’d never have been able to guess.

I had one of those moments this past Saturday night.

There I was, standing in the middle of a crowd of about thirty thousand people or so, in a plastic rain poncho, holding hands with a man whose blog I’d started reading out of the blue just a little over a year ago, dancing to KISS.

kiss-2

Um…..WHAT?? Whose life is this I’m living, anyhow?

At one point I lifted my face up to the sky, eyes closed, feeling the raindrops hitting me, smiling the world’s biggest smile. Then and there I offered my immense gratitude up to The Universe – again. I knew in that moment that I was truly living….that I was the in the middle of the life that I’ve been wanting for myself for a good long while now. Finally. Every time I looked over at CBG and saw how much fun he was having, how much joy he was experiencing, I shared in it with him, too. There was no place I would have rather been on Saturday night – rain, mud, obnoxious drunks, KISS, and all.

No, life is not turning out the way I thought it would – it is far better than anything I ever could have imagined for myself.

Life’s so amazing like that.

IMG_1580IMG_1581IMG_1582

9 Responses

  1. That is pretty freakin awesome.

  2. Momma Sunshine this is your life….Enjoy….you deserve it!

  3. Beautiful!!!

    And it sounds like a BLAST to me! :)

  4. Hi Momma Sunshine!

    I was just posting at HBM’s site, right below you, and thought to link over and read your most-recent blog post. HOW FUNNY that the first thing to pop up was a photo of my favourite band in the world! I’ve been one of those unapologetic Kiss fetishists for well over 30 years, so I was glad to read about your night…and that you & CBG could share it together. Sweet!

  5. Love that you are having so much fun and experiencing so much joy!

  6. So sweet! Reminded me of when I was so pregnant I was ready to pop, and it was 100 degrees out, but I went and sat outside anyways and watched my husband play and win a tennis tournament. It meant so much to him that I was there with him. I think if I’d have gone into labor I would have had that baby right there on the sidelines because no one could have torn me away from sharing that beautiful day with my wonderful sweetheart.

    Thanks for reminding me of that special day.

  7. Aww, sweet. Love it!

    On a side note: when I was little, an older kid told me that Kiss could kill you just by looking at you – even through the television set. And. I. Believed. Him. HA!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,281 other followers

