Spreading the Love

I love being a blogger.

I’ve been doing this for years now – in other places, under different names. I’ve blogged about the joy of my kids. I’ve blogged about the goodness of married life. I’ve blogged my way through some of the darkest moments of my existence. I’ve blogged when there’s been barely anyone out there reading my words.

Lately, it seems, that my blogging-support-community-network-thingie is really growing…and I couldn’t be happier about it.  Not only do I enjoy the support that I receive from others, but I like spreading the love and giving it back to others, as well.

I’m meeting some really awesome people.

So I’ve decided to start a new regular feature here  – “Spreading the Love”…where I will highlight a particular blog or recent post from one of the many that I read. Something that has touched me or inspired me or made me think or made me laugh or somehow just caught my attention in some way….because ya’ll are so incredibly cool, I want to spread the word so that other people know about you, too.

The first blog I want to spread the love to is Stay-at-Home-Mayhem. I stumbled across this blog recently through CBG’s blog (isn’t stalking networking great??), and I knew, when I read one particular post of hers, that she and I were, indeed, kindred spirits. It was these words that caught my attention:

A couple of months ago I did something very brave: I stopped dieting. I stopped calorie counting. I stopped working out in the name of body hatred. I stopped beating myself up for my weight. I got smart and I began to let go.

It’s a journey that I know all too well myself, and one that I think more women can learn from.

The Maven is on a beautiful journey of growth and self-discovery, has a great sense of humour, and even better, is a fellow Canadian! Doesn’t get much better than that, really. If you’re not familiar with this blog, I highly recommend that you take a swing by and check her out.

Oh – and btw – I’m ALWAYS on the lookout for new people to stalk read, so if anyone has any recommendations of blogs they read, enjoy, and are touched by in some way, I’d love to hear all about them…

9 Responses

  1. [...] This post was Twitted by Momma_Sunshine – Real-url.org [...]

  2. yeah, you ARE good at stalking! I mean, networking. I think I had added your blog to my link maybe one or two days before you found me. Found you through Single Mom Seeking, FYI.

    What’s funny is that three years ago when I became a single mom, I didn’t know where to find any single mom blogs (not being very blog-savvy at the time).

    Allison

    • As a single mom, having the support of other single parents out there is soooooooo important! I’m so glad that I have you all in my corner, and that I can be there for you! :)

  3. Great idea! I never thought in my life that my Google Reader would have quite so many blogs in its subscription list, but I just keep finding more and more blogs that I just feel like I connect to with one life-experience or another. I think it’s great that there’s such a community out in the virtual world–especially for Single Parents.

  4. I am so glad you are doing this. Not that this blog http://nieniedialogues.blogspot.com/ actually needs more readers, but this women is the most inspiring person I have ever read about. Please check out her blog. I get tears everytime I read how amazing she is.

  5. Yes, spread the love! I love finding new blogs through people I already read. The recommendations never disappoint Thanks for the new addition.

  6. Lately my new endeavor has been to add to my blogroll. I’m checking out your featured blogger now!

  7. So glad to have found YOU, among many others. I, too, am loving the connections that seem to be circulating here. I wish we could have a big ol’ reunion. Wouldn’t that be awesome?

    I do enjoy reading your blog, Sunshine. I appreciate your real-ness. Thanks.

  8. Just found your blog… who knows how… I have about 10 tabs open with all sorts of blogs for me to venture into. No wonder I don’t get much done during the day…

    who knew we would be doing this??? it’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,281 other followers

